The Calm Before the Storm

I’ve always been a fan of the calm before the storm.

I like the sleepless night before a big trip. I like the car ride to the concert venue. I like the jamming out to music while getting ready. I like psyching someone out before a big event. I like planning surprises. I like surprising people with tickets.

I just really like the calm before the storm. There’s some eeriness to it that gets to me. I like waiting for things and planning for things. It makes me feel invincible knowing anything can happen.

I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that I have a tendency to fall into a minor/major slump after something big. I go through some depression after a major concert, a big trip, or any big event – it’s hard to deal with something being over after waiting for it for so long.

I’ve bought tickets for concerts years before the concert date and I can tell you, it feels so amazing waiting oh so patiently and getting ready for the big  day – but I can also tell you how awful the post-concert depression feels.

Even thought I like the anticipation, sometimes I feel stuck and impatient while waiting – like I can’t do anything in anticipation. But I guess that’s life, huh?

This is one of my favorite quotes by AA Milne (author of Winnie the Pooh)

“Well,” said Pooh, “what I like best,” and then he had to stop and think. Because although Eating Honey was a very good thing to do, there was a moment just before you began to eat it which was better than when you were, but he didn’t know what it was called.”

 

giphy1

There are few things I love more than a Winnie the Pooh gif…

Leave a Reply

