I went to the movies by myself!

Yesterday, I went to the movies by myself.

Now, I’ve gone alone before, once or twice, and had normal, mediocre experiences, but this time, it was different. It wasn’t because I didn’t have anyone to go with, it wasn’t because I felt lonely, or because I felt like I had to go alone.

I went alone because I wanted to. I had about 3 hours to kill before I had to be somewhere so I figured I would get a late lunch/early dinner and then I would go watch a movie.

Best decision ever.

I can’t tell you how happy I felt and how at peace I felt. I ate a healthy lunch of soup and salad and then got to the movie 20 minutes early, sat through all the trailers, and watched a hilarious movie that I had been looking forward to for quite some time.

Normally, being alone and seeming alone would make me feel uncomfortable. I would worry about what people might think of me and how they might judge me.

This time, I still thought those things and I still worried but I didn’t let those thoughts stop me from feeling elated.

It was the perfect “me-time” and I truly think I deserved it. I’ve been doing so much for others recently – giving them my time and energy – and now it was my time to give myself some time and energy.

Will I be going to the movies alone a lot more often? Probably not. But I will not shy away from it at all.

I encourage you to go out and go watch a movie by yourself. The best part is you can watch whichever movie you want to watch and whatever time you want to watch it. It’s a good 2-3 hour commitment where you don’t have to worry about anything else and it feels good to just laugh or cry or feel whatever feelings you want to/need to feel. It’s all up to you and it feels amazing. I didn’t get any popcorn but you can! And guess what? You don’t have to share it with anyone…if that isn’t reason enough, I don’t know what is!

Let me know what movie you want to watch or the last great movie you watched!

Happy weekend!

2 thoughts on “I went to the movies by myself!

  1. I truly think you deserved it too!! I seldom watch a movie on TV let alone go to an actual theater – but after an exhausting week I was writing bills and happened to turn on the TV. Legally Blonde was on – never saw it – really didn’t mean to watch it but it sure was a feel good bunch of fluff that made me smile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

