My Dream Jobs

In no particular order, here’s my list of my dream jobs:

Doctor: Maybe it’s just the massive Grey’s Anatomy fan in me, but I truly believe that doctors are pretty close to the top of the food chain in terms of professions. The fact that they get to help so many people in so many ways is fascinating and admirable. And this goes for anyone in the medical field, not just doctors. I think specifically, I would love to be in the field of neuroscience. With my background in psychology, I think the brain is so interesting and cool to learn about. Unfortunately for me, blood and needles and the concepts of cutting skin open make me really squeamish – like I can’t even watch that stuff on TV – so I couldn’t even consider going into the medical field. Plus, I’m not very good at math (something I had to come to terms with long ago) and science isn’t my forte either and both those subjects are crucial when considering a medical profession.

Architect: I love love love working with my hands. I love building things – I’m the person who loves putting furniture together. I wish I could build Ikea furniture all day long. Art has never been my thing because I don’t think I’m creative in the traditional sense but I actually think I’m creative in a weird HGTV kind of way. I also appreciate architecture and I love how much thought and care goes into architecture. It’s all in the details and specifics that capture my eye and on the flip side, minimalistic architecture and design is just as fascinating to me. If I knew sooner in life that I would appreciate architecture and design as much as I do, I would love to be in that field. I would love to create things from scratch and watch them become something over time.

Boxer: Okay, I have no idea where this came from but I’m a huge sports fan. I love watching a wide variety of sports and I root for different teams and players and I can also play a decent amount of sports with ease. I always say that if I could have been amazing at any sport, it would be soccer because I have such an appreciation for the sport, but then when I was thinking about this, I feel like boxing is such a specific sport that only gets recognition at its highest level (aka high-paid male boxers). I’m sure there are plenty of female boxers who don’t get any recognition and how cool would it be to be in an up and coming sport where you have the potential and chance to be the best? I love how boxing isn’t mainly about strength – it’s more about strategy, quickness, and resiliency.

Comic: Making people laugh is the #1 thing that gives me joy in life. I don’t think I’m the funniest person but I know I’m funny and I love making people laugh and then realizing that it’s me that made them laugh so hard. One of my favorites things is making people who don’t know me laugh – I love when they laugh and I can see the surprise in their eyes and on their faces when they realize that their pre-judgments about me were wrong and that I’m actually a pretty funny person. My comedic inspirations come from the likes of Tina Fey, Amy Poehler, Seth Meyers, Jimmy Fallon, Kristen Wiig, Grace Helbig, Mamrie Hart, Hannah Hart, Cicily Strong, Abbi Jacobson, Ilina Glazer, Chelsea Peretti, Mindy Kaling, BJ Novak, and of course, my absolute favorite, Amy Schumer. I don’t know if I have in me to be a comic and that’s probably why I’ve never explored this avenue, but I guess there’s a reason why it’s on this list.

Counselor/therapist: This is the avenue I’m taking in life and I couldn’t be happier about it. I’ve known for a long time that I want to be a counselor and I want to help people and I’m so glad that I’m getting to the point where it’s becoming my profession. I wholeheartedly believe I’m going to be a great counselor and I am so surprised and honored by the amount of people who tell me and assure me that I am going to be a great one. It’s so amazing to me when I tell people that I am going to be a counselor/therapist and they tell me that they can see me being one because it makes sense. I have the personality and the old soul of a counselor and I’ve been through enough in my life to appreciate the art of sympathy. I put this dream jobs list because it is my dream job and I don’t know where life is going to take me but I know that choosing this line of work is something I’m never going to regret.

What are some of your dream jobs? If you could be anything you ever wanted to be, what would you be?

5 thoughts on “My Dream Jobs

  1. I miss the scientis in your list! How could you skip my job? 😀
    My favorites are: doctor, farmer, scientist, author and full-time-mother. But I have one question… What are you now? I may have missed it out if you mentioned it somewhere, and if so then I’m sorry, but I’m really curious.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I started out pursuing child psychology and did a degree in psychology but didn’t have the grades to get into the advanced program so I took a year off and then did an education degree then a master of education. I still think about going back to get a master in counselling. I have so many things I enjoy so I am not sure I could pick a dream job.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wanted to be a medical doctor or nurse but realized earlier on that I couldn’t stand the site of blood or someone in pain, so I resorted to being a Grey’s Anatomy cheerleader. What I really love doing is more towards the service industry. For someone that is very quite with a capital Q, I really enjoy working with people to bring satisfaction to them. I have had such opportunity in the human resources department dealing with staff welfare and in the customer service department dealing with customer requests and challenges. oh! Then I had a gift shop that involved my meeting customers requests. All these among other jobs permanent or temporary that I’ve been privileged to do.
    So I’ll say, that my dream job is basically enjoying where I am and making cool and comfortable living from it while looking forward to new opportunities.
    That been said, I will love counseling/mentoring/ life coaching/charitable events, my ultimate been an angel investor and venture capitalist.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. When I was a girl, my dream job was being an astronaut, and although the explosion of the Challenger put an end to that dream for me (as for many other kids, I’m sure), there’s still a part of me that wishes I had pursued that dream at least a little bit. Going into space would be so amazing! (I’m not really all that good at math, though, so perhaps it was never more than a pipe dream.)

    Where I stand right now, my other unachievable dream job would be archaeologist. I have an undergrad degree in archaeology, and I’m just no good at it. But I love it none the less!

    My other dream job would be novelist, in the sense of someone who’s actually published a novel and had people buy and read it. (I’ve written plenty of novels, but none so far are good enough to try to publish them.) I suppose this one is just as unlikely as the other two, really, but it’s the one I’m still trying to achieve, regardless of its impossibility.

    I hope you have success with your own dream job! Therapy is a wonderful career with the potential to help a lot of people. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve always wanted to be a writer, but then somehow I ended up pursuing Computer Science! Its almost like I want to be both, a programmer and a writer. So I’m laying it off like this- I write both: code and poetry!

    I absolutely love your post! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

