Promises

A promise is a commitment. It’s a contract between two people. A promise is a debt until completed – you are indebted to the person and to whichever higher power you believe in.

I don’t break promises. That’s one of the things I want to be known for – I want it to be known that I never break promises. I think giving your word to someone is like giving someone your trust and loyalty. Once you go back on your word, you’re kind of taking that trust and loyalty away.

By breaking a promise, you take away your credibility. You show the person that you don’t value them. You show that your word is not worth anything. On an equally important note, you are also showing that you don’t value your own word and have no problem going back on your word.

Even a small almost-meaningless promise is a promise and shouldn’t be broken.

I haven’t broken a promise in years at this point. It’s the one thing I put all my power in. I don’t promise anything unless I know I am capable of fulfilling it. And it’s one of the things I take the most pride in.

Here are two great articles about promises:

Why Keeping Your Promise is Good for YOU

5 Tips to Help You Keep Your Promises

One thought on “Promises

Leave a Reply

