I Missed 100% Of The Shots I Took – But I Didn’t Lose

Last night, I trudged through the snow and slush to get to the gym for a late night workout. After some weight-lifting, I looked around and realized that the gym was pretty empty so I decided to play some basketball.

I love playing basketball and I always forget how much I enjoy it until I get onto the court and start shooting.

I had my earphones in, listening to a podcast – I was in my zone.

The funny thing is, I couldn’t make any shots for the life of me. It was just miss after miss after miss. It was horrendous. I was probably making 25% of the shots I was taking.

But I was so happy. I was so confident and so content with myself. I didn’t even care that I was missing most of the shots I was taking because it didn’t matter; what mattered was that I was on the court with an inflated (ha, deflate gate) and scuffed up basketball and I was in my zone.

Fortunately, once I realized how happy I was and I consciously acknowledged my happiness and confidence, I started making more shots. It was so cool; it was like once I realized how much I was enjoying myself and how little it mattered that I wasn’t making any shots, I started making more shots.

It was fascinating to me. I probably had a smile on my face the entire time.

I felt like I was me. I didn’t care about anything else. It doesn’t even much to do with basketball – it has everything to do with my perspective and how I embraced the moment. And I love that. I love that I was able to feel that.

I was all alone on the court – it was just me and I didn’t feel lonely at all. I felt happy. I could feel the endorphins and the positivity flowing through me and I felt amazing.

That was my spark. That was my singular moment of happiness and I haven’t stopped thinking about it since then.

5 thoughts on “I Missed 100% Of The Shots I Took – But I Didn’t Lose

  1. That’s an amazing experience! It really proves that when you’re enjoying what you’re doing, you’re bound to do it better! Whether it’s sports, jobs, school… anything! Now I want to go and shoot hoops! Haven’t done that in years!

    Like

  2. Loved this post. It’s all about being in the moment and appreciating the experience. Beautiful way to end the post, “That was my spark. That was my singular moment of happiness and I haven’t stopped thinking about it since then.”

    Keep hanging onto that spark. Those sparks are what life is all about!

    Like

Leave a Reply

