Ice, Water, and Steam (oh my)

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly writing challenge: “Ice, Water, Steam.”

Water is just water…or is it? Ice is water, steam is water. Water can take shape of oceans, 8 oz glasses, rivers, glaciers, clouds, ponds, puddles, bathtubs, tears, and even groundwater.

Just like water, I think we are all so much more than we give ourselves and each other credit for.

“The whole is greater than the sum of its parts” – Aristotle

The second I saw this prompt, this quote came to mind because we are more than just who we are at facevalue. I can be a million different things based on where I am, who I am with, what I am doing, what my goals are, and what is expected of me.

I am a daughter, a sister, a painter, a photographer, a writer, a blogger, a lover of tigers, a book-lover, a sports fan, a friend, a teacher, a 21 year old.

But I am all of those things (and more) because of what I have been through. Water is just water until it is frozen – then it’s ice. Just like water, I have evolved because of all the things I have been through in my 21+ years of living. People have changed me, experiences have changed me, time has changed me. And the best thing is that I will continue to evolve and grow (hopefully into a better and more wholesome person) as I go through life. I will continue to change, just like water.

Interestingly enough, there is a finite amount of water on planet earth. This means there is and always has been the same amount of water. The water we have around us now was around when the dinosaurs roamed the earth. The same water is recycled and is used again and again. This same water goes through a cycle and is cleaned and reused.

Like the law of conservation of mass, water cannot be created nor destroyed. Maybe, just maybe, neither can we. Maybe who we were in the past is still there somewhere within us, influencing us, helping create a better version of ourselves. Maybe we come into people’s lives and change them, in minuscule ways, and help create a better version of themselves.

Maybe we don’t give water enough credit.

Maybe we don’t give ourselves enough credit.

Screenshot 2015-01-04 at 2.07.03 PM

One thought on “Ice, Water, and Steam (oh my)

Leave a Reply

