New Year’s Resolutions (or lack thereof?)

First and foremost, happy 2015. I hope this year brings everyone much joy and happiness.

Okay so, New Year’s Resolutions.

If I’m honest, I’m not one to have New Year’s Resolutions. I’ve never really sought out any resolutions because I don’t think that’s how I work. I believe the new year is usually a great way to think of things in a sort of “new beginning” kind of way and that helps many people set goals and follow through with them. But that’s not always the case with me. Plus, I kind of work better knowing that everyday is kind of a new beginning and that I can choose to be better whenever I want. The number of the year changing shouldn’t have to be a trigger for me to change my habits or try to change/better myself in ways I deem necessary. It’s more about knowing that I can choose that for myself whenever.

That all being said, last year on January 1st, 2014, I decided not to bite my nails anymore. It wasn’t so much a New Year’s Resolution as it was a choice. I thought, “Hey, let me try to stop biting my nails” like I had a hundred other times. Crazily enough, I ended up lasting a week and then I cut and filed my nails for the first time in over 14 years I think and then I just never bit them again. I don’t know how it happened and why it happened and I still get the urge to bite my nails during stressful times but I consciously decide not to.

This year, I’m not making any New Year’s Resolutions. This year, today, I am going to write down a few things I want to keep reminding myself throughout the year. Things I think are important. Things that will help me better myself. So here’s my list of 2015 Reminders:

Be kind

Be thoughtful

Be hopeful

Keep your faith

Keep trying

Good things happen to good people

Give more than you get

The most important things in life aren’t things at all

“Happiness only real when shared”

happiness-only-real-when-shared

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions (or lack thereof?)

Leave a Reply

